INEC to conduct 28 rerun elections in January

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) says there were 30 court-ordered rerun and supplementary elections out of which only two were conducted leaving a balance of 28 across the country.

INEC National Commissioner/Chairman Information and Voter Education Committee (IVEC), Mr. Festus Okoye, said after consideration of several issues surrounding the rerun elections, including the time needed for preparations, establishing the full details of the affected areas from court judgments as well as the intervention of the Yuletide, the commission has decided to hold all the 28 outstanding court-ordered rerun elections on Saturday 25th January 2020.

Table Of Contents Show

Speaking at the end of the commission’s 51st regular meeting, he said the meeting was specifically held to discuss the rerun elections arising from petitions following the 2019 general elections and that further details of various activities and timelines would be published later.

CHECK ALSO:   Why Buhari Will By no means Signal The Amended Electoral Act – Buba Galadima

“Consequently, there are 28 court-ordered elections still outstanding which are distributed across 12 states of the federation,” Okoye said.

He said arising from the 2019 general elections, 807 post-election petitions were filed at various tribunals out of which 582 were dismissed and 183 withdrawn by the petitioners.

“Out of the remaining 42, the tribunals ordered reruns in 30 and issuance of certificates of return in 12 cases,” he said.

Share this:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.